Planned Updates to HOPR Governance

Dear Community,

This post will provide some background context on the governance changes mentioned in the proposal for HOPR Governance Experiment 7 and the follow-up post from our founder Sebastian

(Standard disclaimer as always: I’m not a lawyer, none of this is legal or financial advice and you should always do your own research into your legal obligations in your own jurisdiction.)

Since the launch of the HOPR token in early 2021, we’ve been experimentally iterating on different approaches to governance processes. We’ve learned a lot about incentivization, participation, and voting modalities. We’ve taken a very slow, risk-averse approach, and I’m proud of what we’ve achieved. HOPR governance has some of the highest participation in the governance space, and it feels like each experiment we run

But we’re not operating in a vacuum. While we’ve been doing this, the governance and regulatory landscape has shifted. Cases like OokiDAO show that there are real legal risks to navigate.

For the past few months, we’ve been working on a new approach to HOPR governance which combines what we’ve learned from our experiments with the practical reality that a one-size-fits-all approach cannot meet the needs of the different parts of HOPR ecosystem.

It seems we’re not alone in this approach. Gabriel Shapiro, [LexNode description] recently wrote a great article introducing the concept of BORGs, legal entities with a smart contract basis that sit somewhere between DAOs and traditional off-chain entities.

https://twitter.com/lex_node/status/1649053924698259457
I don’t agree fully with the article. It’s very hazy on what the actual DAO part is once all the BORGs have been established, and despite stressing the important distinction between autonomy and automation, the confusion starts to creep back in towards the end. (Also BORG is a really dumb name. Their original CybOrg, Cybernetic Organization, is much better.)